--:-- • --:--Пример экскурсии
Prechistenskaya Embankment runs along the left bank of the Moskva River. It begins from Lenivka Street, and ends at the Krymsky (or Crimea) Bridge, where it changes its name to Frunzenskaya Embankment.
During the soviet years of 1924 to 1992 Prechistenskaya Embankment became renamed Kropotkinskaya. Before 1924 it had originally begun at Soimonovsky Proezd Street. The section between the Great Stone Bridge and Soimonovsky Proezd had then been called the Christ The Saviour Embankment. To the left it adjoins Novokrymsky Proezd Street, Turchaninov, Korobeinikov, and 1st Zachatevsky Lanes, and Soimonovsky Proezd Street. No bathing is allowed from the embankment, and mooring boats is also forbidden. The warning signs of these prohibitions can be well-enough seen even from the opposite side on Bersenevskaya Embankment. The pathway goes closer to the right-hand side of the Moskva River.
Prechistenskaya Embankment is limited to a very narrow pedestrian footpath for almost its entire length, and has no footsteps down to the water itself. This might go some way to explaining why it appears to be deserted at almost any time of year. Closer to Patriarch's Footbridge, by the Cathedral of Christ the Saviour, on Fridays and each weekend there are regular bridal corteges drawing up to take photographs of newly-weds at the viewpoint, along with regular tourist buses.
The Cathedral of Christ the Saviour is a cathedral on the northern bank of the Moskva River, a few blocks southwest of the Kremlin. With an overall height of 103 metres it is the tallest Orthodox Christian church in the world.
The current church is the second to stand on this site. The original church, built during the 19th century, took more than 40 years to build. It was destroyed in 1931 during the Communist rule of Joseph Stalin. The demolition was supposed to make way for a colossal Palace of the Soviets that was never built, so the church was reconstructed in the 1990s on the same site.
The Cathedral is located on Volkhonka Street, which starts from Borovitskaya Square. The name of the street appeared at the end of the XVIII century when on the lands of the Volkonskis, a famous noble family was a popular tavern "Volkhonka". The street is one of the most ancient in Moscow. It was famous as a district for the rich.
This district is going to become Moscow Museum District. During the tour you will see and have the opportunity to visit a number of art museums: The Tsvetkovsky Gallery, The Ilya Glazunov Art Gallery, The Lopukhin Family Mansion (aka the Roerich Museum), Gallery of European and American Art of the C19th and C20th, The Pushkin Museum of Fine Arts, The Museum of Private Collections. While walking here you will understand why Moscow used to be accepted as a beautiful jewelry box. In the lanes you will discover old mansions and fall in love with stories of Russian noble families. Such are The Golitsyn Mansion, The Lopukhin Family Mansion, Obolonsky's Mansion, Sergey Tretyakov's Mansion etc. The Chambers of Averky Kirillov - a unique example of a large urban homestead. Chambers, Church of St. Nicholas and outbuildings along the waterfront are a single architectural complex.
Another bright example of Moscow architecture is Pertsova's Rental Apartment Mansions. The house was an apartment house, located on the corner of Soymonovsky passage and Prechistenskaya embankment, built in 1905-1907 by architects N. Zhukov and B.N. Shnaubert on sketches of the artist S.V. Malyutin, author of Russian nesting dolls. The house includes apartments and artists' studios in the upper attic of the building.