--:-- • --:--Пример экскурсии
The Palace of Tsar Aleksey I Romanov resembled a small fairy-tale town and amazed everyone with its unusual architecture—cupolas on tented roofs, pavilions, porches, intricately carving, and abundance of different colours. It those days, the palace was popularly dubbed ‘The Eighth Wonder of the World’. It was not in the Kremlin but here in his country residence that the tsar oftentimes received foreign ambassadors in the summertime. Foreigners were amazed by not only the imperial palace, but also the surrounding natural landscape.
After the death of Tsar Aleksey, his children visited Kolomenskoye less and less frequently. While Tsar Fyodor received foreign ambassadors in the country residence in the summer months, during the reigns of Ivan V and Pyotr I (Peter the Great in the future) such receptions were held only in the Kremlin Palace. After Peter the First moved the capital from Moscow to Saint Petersburg, the imperial estate went to rack and ruin. Even though the palace was renovated in the 1820, it became quite dilapidated by the mid-C18th.
In 1767, due to its decrepit state, the Palace of Tsar Aleksey Romanov was dismantled on the order of Catherine the Second. Fortunately, detailed surveys and drawings were made before the demolition. In the Kolomenskoye Museum, you can see a wooden palace model made in the C19th by Dmitry Smirnov, a master carver at the Armoury Chamber.
In 2010, they built a life-sized model of the tower palace Tsar Aleksey in Kolomenskoye. It was erected behind Golosov Ravine near Kashira Highway, rather than in the Monarchic Court. At present, it is used for exhibition purposes.
Kolomenskoye is a nice park and a former royal estate situated several kilometers to the southeast of the city center of Moscow, on the ancient road leading to the ancient picturesque town of Kolomna (hence the name).
The area overlooks the steep banks of the Moskva River. This fact will allow you to do a lot of great panoramic photos. This is also a place where seasonal folk festivals take place: honey and handicrafts trade-fairs, religious festivities and processions. If you fond of painting, this is the right place for drawing nature, city landscapes and churches.
The area is rich with cafes and restaurants offering traditional Russian cuisine in wooden houses. Try Russian pan-cakes with different filling, small and big pies, and honey cakes.
Kolomenskoye village was first mentioned in the testament of Ivan Kalita in 1339. As time went by, the village was developed as a favourite country estate of grand princes of Muscovy. The earliest existing structure is the exceptional Ascension church (1532), built in white stone to commemorate the long-awaited birth of an heir to the throne, the future Ivan the Terrible. Being the first stone church of tent-like variety, the uncanonical "White Column" (as it is sometimes referred to) marked a stunning break from the Byzantine tradition.
Recognizing its outstanding value for humanity, UNESCO decided to inscribe the church on the World Heritage List. The estate was one of the favourite places for Ivan the Terrible. He used to celebrate here his name-day in August. In XVI-XVII centuries there develops a unique architectural ensemble, subordinated to the idea of ceremonial royal residence, which is of great artistic and historical value. The heyday of Kolomenskoye is associated with the reign of Alexey Mikhailovich - Kolomenskoye was his favorite residence also. In 1667-1668 a magnificent wooden palace (the Eighth Wonder of the World) which had 250 rooms, was erected. The complex of the royal buildings was surrounded by the wall with three gates: Front, Back and Garden.
The future Empress Elizabeth Petrovna was born in the palace in 1709, and Tsar Peter the Great spent part of his youth here. Upon the departure of the court for St. Petersburg, the palace fell into disrepair, so that Catherine II refused to make it her Moscow residence. On her orders the wooden palace was demolished in 1768, and replaced with a much more modest stone-and-brick structure.
Fortunately, detailed plans of the 17th century palace survived and Moscow Government has completed a full-scale reconstruction in 2010.