--:-- • --:--Пример экскурсии
The Cabin of Peter the First is a small log cabin with a porch and some anchors displayed nearby.
In his childhood, Peter the First resided in Kolomenskoye. After the death of his father, Tsar Aleksey, the estate became the residence of his mother, Tzarina Natalia Naryshkina. The estate was often visited by young Tsar Fyodor, who dearly loved his younger brother, future Peter the Great. Kolomenskoye was also visited by Ivan the Fifth, who co-reigned with Pyotr from 1682. Some years later, Pyotr took a great interest in mobilizing his Poteshny or fun regiments and at his request they delivered to this place ammunition, miniature cannons, fun bows, halberds, and musquets.
Sometimes, Prince Pyotr organised sailing and rowing campaigns to Kolomenskoye. In vicinity of the imperial estate, he also staged the famous Kozhukhovo manoeuvres – review parades of the Poteshny regiments with the participation of about 30 thousand people.
When Peter the Great grew up and actually became a sole ruler, he did not forget Kolomenskoye and occasionally came to the estate to participate in his father’s favourite sport, falconry. However, as years went by, Peter visited his ancestral Moscow-region place less and less frequently. His dearly loved sister Natalia stayed in Kolomenskoye for long periods, though. But the ‘golden age’ of this place was over.
The only thing that distinguishes the Cabin of Peter the Great from an ordinary Russian log cabin is a greater number of windows with their wavy ‘moonstone glass’ panes. It is a typical northern cabin built of large logs, with seams caulked with moss. Its layout is quite simply. The cabin consists of three residential rooms connected with a cold inner porch. However, the tsar’s cabin has one unusual feature – its ceilings are low. The fact is that Peter the First suffered from agoraphobia – the fear of open space. It was rumoured that not infrequently he slept in a wardrobe. So, Peter preferred tiny room to spacious halls.
During the tsar’s lifetime, the cabin was located not in Kolomenskoye, but on the Isle of Markov in the estuary of the Northern Dvina, not far from Arkhangelsk. At that time, Peter supervised the construction of the Novodvinskaya Fortress. In 1936, the Cabin of Peter the First was transported to the Reserve Museum at the initiative of Pyotr Baranovsky.
The Cabin of Peter the First in Kolomenskoye houses Moscow’s only memorial museum dedicated to Peter the First. In the tsar’s front rooms they recreated interiors of the early C17th. In front of the house, guests can see some anchors from a paddle steamer of the late C19th. They were found when the Moskva River was dragged in the 1960s.
Kolomenskoye is a nice park and a former royal estate situated several kilometers to the southeast of the city center of Moscow, on the ancient road leading to the ancient picturesque town of Kolomna (hence the name).
The area overlooks the steep banks of the Moskva River. This fact will allow you to do a lot of great panoramic photos. This is also a place where seasonal folk festivals take place: honey and handicrafts trade-fairs, religious festivities and processions. If you fond of painting, this is the right place for drawing nature, city landscapes and churches.
The area is rich with cafes and restaurants offering traditional Russian cuisine in wooden houses. Try Russian pan-cakes with different filling, small and big pies, and honey cakes.
Kolomenskoye village was first mentioned in the testament of Ivan Kalita in 1339. As time went by, the village was developed as a favourite country estate of grand princes of Muscovy. The earliest existing structure is the exceptional Ascension church (1532), built in white stone to commemorate the long-awaited birth of an heir to the throne, the future Ivan the Terrible. Being the first stone church of tent-like variety, the uncanonical "White Column" (as it is sometimes referred to) marked a stunning break from the Byzantine tradition.
Recognizing its outstanding value for humanity, UNESCO decided to inscribe the church on the World Heritage List. The estate was one of the favourite places for Ivan the Terrible. He used to celebrate here his name-day in August. In XVI-XVII centuries there develops a unique architectural ensemble, subordinated to the idea of ceremonial royal residence, which is of great artistic and historical value. The heyday of Kolomenskoye is associated with the reign of Alexey Mikhailovich - Kolomenskoye was his favorite residence also. In 1667-1668 a magnificent wooden palace (the Eighth Wonder of the World) which had 250 rooms, was erected. The complex of the royal buildings was surrounded by the wall with three gates: Front, Back and Garden.
The future Empress Elizabeth Petrovna was born in the palace in 1709, and Tsar Peter the Great spent part of his youth here. Upon the departure of the court for St. Petersburg, the palace fell into disrepair, so that Catherine II refused to make it her Moscow residence. On her orders the wooden palace was demolished in 1768, and replaced with a much more modest stone-and-brick structure.
Fortunately, detailed plans of the 17th century palace survived and Moscow Government has completed a full-scale reconstruction in 2010.