--:-- • --:--Пример экскурсии
West of the Church of the Ascension, you can see the Belltower of Saint George, the Church of Saint George, and the Water Tower.
The Belltower of Saint George, a detached tower near the Church of the Ascension, was built in the mid-C16th. The altar in its lower tier was dedicated to Saint George the Victorious. According to a legend, the Belltower was built on the site of an ancient church erected in commemoration of the Battle of Kulikovo during the reign of Prince Dmitry Of The Don (or Dmitry Donskoy). Archaeological findings prove that the ancient church was really built in that place. There is a theory that the belltower church was erected in honour of the birth of Yury, the second son of Vasily the Third. The matter is that Yury is the equivalent of the name 'George', hence the name of the church.
When the Belltower of Saint George was erected, it was used for the Church of the Ascension. Before that, the Church of the Ascension had had a temporary belltower. Its remains were found by restorers in the church’s gallery.
The Belltower of Saint George is characterized by the elegance of its details and the use of order elements, which is indicative of the fact that the church was built by Italian experts. In the mid-C19th, architect Yevgraf Tyurin rebuild the belltower of the Church of Saint George and erected a large brick refectory in the western part of the building. In the late 1920, a group of restorers supervised by Pyotr Baranovsky dismantled some part of the refectory that was adjacent to the ancient belltower to restore its original shape.
Kolomenskoye is a nice park and a former royal estate situated several kilometers to the southeast of the city center of Moscow, on the ancient road leading to the ancient picturesque town of Kolomna (hence the name).
The area overlooks the steep banks of the Moskva River. This fact will allow you to do a lot of great panoramic photos. This is also a place where seasonal folk festivals take place: honey and handicrafts trade-fairs, religious festivities and processions. If you fond of painting, this is the right place for drawing nature, city landscapes and churches.
The area is rich with cafes and restaurants offering traditional Russian cuisine in wooden houses. Try Russian pan-cakes with different filling, small and big pies, and honey cakes.
Kolomenskoye village was first mentioned in the testament of Ivan Kalita in 1339. As time went by, the village was developed as a favourite country estate of grand princes of Muscovy. The earliest existing structure is the exceptional Ascension church (1532), built in white stone to commemorate the long-awaited birth of an heir to the throne, the future Ivan the Terrible. Being the first stone church of tent-like variety, the uncanonical "White Column" (as it is sometimes referred to) marked a stunning break from the Byzantine tradition.
Recognizing its outstanding value for humanity, UNESCO decided to inscribe the church on the World Heritage List. The estate was one of the favourite places for Ivan the Terrible. He used to celebrate here his name-day in August. In XVI-XVII centuries there develops a unique architectural ensemble, subordinated to the idea of ceremonial royal residence, which is of great artistic and historical value. The heyday of Kolomenskoye is associated with the reign of Alexey Mikhailovich - Kolomenskoye was his favorite residence also. In 1667-1668 a magnificent wooden palace (the Eighth Wonder of the World) which had 250 rooms, was erected. The complex of the royal buildings was surrounded by the wall with three gates: Front, Back and Garden.
The future Empress Elizabeth Petrovna was born in the palace in 1709, and Tsar Peter the Great spent part of his youth here. Upon the departure of the court for St. Petersburg, the palace fell into disrepair, so that Catherine II refused to make it her Moscow residence. On her orders the wooden palace was demolished in 1768, and replaced with a much more modest stone-and-brick structure.
Fortunately, detailed plans of the 17th century palace survived and Moscow Government has completed a full-scale reconstruction in 2010.