--:-- • --:--Пример экскурсии
Lindens Park was laid out along the Moskva River bank in 1825 concurrently with the construction of the palace of Alexander the First. The park is separated from Kazan Garden by a linden alley.
The linden is one of the most popular trees. It often features in songs and fairy-tales. The Ancient Slavs revered the linden as the goddess of love, beauty, and marriage – Lada. In addition, the linden is one of the most useful trees. Traditionally, soft linden wood is used to produce different household utensils, ranging from toys to tubs and musical instruments. Linden bast was used to make bast shoes. And surely many people love these trees for their exhilarating fragrance during the blossoming season.
A folk genre of bast prints—lubok—is closely associated with the linden. Bast prints appeared in Russia under the name of ‘foreign sheets’ or ‘German funny sheets’ in the C16th. They were printed on basts – specially sawn tablets made primarily of linden sapwood. Painted bast chests became very popular in the C17th. Bast print themes were very diverse – folktales, ‘The Tales about Bold People’, different stories about Prince Bova, judicial trial scenes, for example ‘The Case Tried by Shemyaka’, sacred scenes, lives of saints, and parables. Once in a while, people were prosecuted for bast prints. In the early C19th, police censorship was introduced for bast printing.
It is said that the name of Moscow’s Life-Giving Trinity Church ‘V Listakh’ originates from the Russian word ‘list’ meaning ‘a bast print sheet’. In the old days, bast prints were on sale near the church. They were hung out on the church fence. In addition, linden bast prints could be bought on Saviour Bridge and in Red Square. By the way, most prominent pre-revolutionary book publisher Ivan Sytin was the largest producer and distributer of bast prints in the late C19th. For this purpose, he hired professional artists and used verses by well-known poets. In present-day Russia, bast prints are still popular and can be bought in the Kolomenskoye shopping arcade.
Kolomenskoye is a nice park and a former royal estate situated several kilometers to the southeast of the city center of Moscow, on the ancient road leading to the ancient picturesque town of Kolomna (hence the name).
The area overlooks the steep banks of the Moskva River. This fact will allow you to do a lot of great panoramic photos. This is also a place where seasonal folk festivals take place: honey and handicrafts trade-fairs, religious festivities and processions. If you fond of painting, this is the right place for drawing nature, city landscapes and churches.
The area is rich with cafes and restaurants offering traditional Russian cuisine in wooden houses. Try Russian pan-cakes with different filling, small and big pies, and honey cakes.
Kolomenskoye village was first mentioned in the testament of Ivan Kalita in 1339. As time went by, the village was developed as a favourite country estate of grand princes of Muscovy. The earliest existing structure is the exceptional Ascension church (1532), built in white stone to commemorate the long-awaited birth of an heir to the throne, the future Ivan the Terrible. Being the first stone church of tent-like variety, the uncanonical "White Column" (as it is sometimes referred to) marked a stunning break from the Byzantine tradition.
Recognizing its outstanding value for humanity, UNESCO decided to inscribe the church on the World Heritage List. The estate was one of the favourite places for Ivan the Terrible. He used to celebrate here his name-day in August. In XVI-XVII centuries there develops a unique architectural ensemble, subordinated to the idea of ceremonial royal residence, which is of great artistic and historical value. The heyday of Kolomenskoye is associated with the reign of Alexey Mikhailovich - Kolomenskoye was his favorite residence also. In 1667-1668 a magnificent wooden palace (the Eighth Wonder of the World) which had 250 rooms, was erected. The complex of the royal buildings was surrounded by the wall with three gates: Front, Back and Garden.
The future Empress Elizabeth Petrovna was born in the palace in 1709, and Tsar Peter the Great spent part of his youth here. Upon the departure of the court for St. Petersburg, the palace fell into disrepair, so that Catherine II refused to make it her Moscow residence. On her orders the wooden palace was demolished in 1768, and replaced with a much more modest stone-and-brick structure.
Fortunately, detailed plans of the 17th century palace survived and Moscow Government has completed a full-scale reconstruction in 2010.